All News

Medina Electric Cooperative is helping students pursuing secondary education with a $1,000 scholarship. This year, twenty-five students received a scholarship to be used during the 2024-2025 academic year. Twenty of those students are graduating high school seniors and five were part of the adult applications. Winners were randomly selected from all qualified entries.   

Winners include:

  • Amanda Rodriguez, Rio Grande City
  • Austyn Schulte, Sabinal
  • Brianna Rizo, Devine
  • Brodie Carnes, Uvalde
  • Campbele Aldridge, Lytle
  • Chloe Perez, Rio Grande City
  • Corinne Fowler, Devine
  • Daniela Dela Cruz, Rio Grande City
  • Elena Gonzales, Natalia
  • Gavin Ripps, Castroville
  • Janilyn Aguilar, Dilley
  • Jaylen Gonzalez, Rio Grande City
  • Katelyn Dinwiddie, Moore
  • Kyle Anizan, Pearsall
  • Lanna Mangold, Hondo
  • Layne Tapia, D’Hanis
  • Lucy Rochat, Mason
  • Madison Speed, Hondo
  • Matthew Tschirhart, Rio Medina
  • Orlando Mireles Jr., Castroville
  • Rebecca Ramirez, Rio Grande City
  • Riya Umar, Castroville
  • Skyler Fitzpatrick, Hondo
  • Sydney Reyes, D’Hanis
  • Yancey Parson, Devine

According to CEO Trey Grebe, “Medina EC’s scholarship program helps students in our service area pursue the continuation of their education and training. Education, Training and Information is one of the Seven Cooperative Principles, and we are proud to be able to help them pursue their education.”

Medina Electric Cooperative has awarded $702,500 to 518 members since the program began in 2000. See the faces of this year’s scholarship winners and learn more about the program at